The Wonderful World of Politics

Done with Religion
2 min readNov 1, 2022

--

Or the Divisive World of Politics

by Michael Donahoe

As the mid-term elections draw near here in the United States, most people are more involved with politics and are being bombarded with politicians asking for their vote than any other time of year.

For me personally, I really have very little interest in politics. I do not vote based on political party and I am not loyal to any of the political parties in this country. I vote based on who I think will do the best job for all people in the United States.

Unfortunately, I feel that politics in general is a major divider between people. Most people who are Republicans think the other party is a danger to our country, while those who are Democrat feel the same about the other party.

Rather than work together for the good of the country, there is more time spent on overcoming the power of the opposite party. I see more fights and arguments over political views. I see friends and even family separated because of their differing political views. Sadly, politics is certainly something that separates and brings out the worst in people.

I think everyone should vote, and we should vote for who we think will do the best job for the people of this country. I do not believe we should vote just because someone is a Republican or a Democrat, but because we feel the person will follow the constitution and will view all people in this country as deserving of equal rights and protections.

No specific politician or political party will be the answer to all our problems. It will take politicians and political parties working together for the common good of the people of this country. Finding such politicians will be up to the people who will get out and vote for politicians who are willing to do what is necessary for the good of us all, and not just their political party.

--

--

Done with Religion

Done with religion does not mean done with God, but done with religious traditions. We post articles weekly about living for God outside the walls of religion.